Read Perfect Prey: The twisty new crime thriller that will keep you up all night (A DI Callanach Thriller, Book 2) by Helen Fields Online

perfect-prey-the-twisty-new-crime-thriller-that-will-keep-you-up-all-night-a-di-callanach-thriller-book-2

Without doubt, this is one of the best detective series I have read Womans Way MagazineYour new addiction starts here get hooked on the 1 bestselling series Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J Arlidge.Welcome to Edinburgh Murder capital of Europe.In the middle of a rock festival, a charity worker is sliced across the stomach He dies minutes later In a crowd of thousands, no one saw his attacker.The following week, the body of a primary school teacher is found in a dumpster in an Edinburgh alley, strangled with her own woollen scarf.D.I Ava Turner and D.I Luc Callanach have no leads and no motive until around the city, graffitied on buildings, words appear describing each victim.Its only when they realise the words are being written before rather than after the murders, that they understand the killer is announcing his next victimand the innocent the better....

Title : Perfect Prey: The twisty new crime thriller that will keep you up all night (A DI Callanach Thriller, Book 2)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : B01N3KP65A
ISBN13 : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Language : Englisch
Publisher : Avon 27 Juli 2017
Number of Pages : 500 Pages
File Size : 966 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Perfect Prey: The twisty new crime thriller that will keep you up all night (A DI Callanach Thriller, Book 2) Reviews

  • Charly
    2018-11-03 04:18

    Ich fand dieses Buch noch besser als das Erste! Die Charaktete sind toll beschrieben, man bekommt wirklich tolle Einblicke und die Story ist einfach irre spannend! Ich hoffe, dass das dritte Buch genauso toll ist!

  • Anna
    2018-10-24 04:15

    I love her writing, language, her intricate stories and how they are intertwined. I'm a picky reader but Helen Fields ticks every box. Page turner for so many reasons!

  • Helene Stephens
    2018-11-13 01:02

    I think I am a little out of step with the other reviewers of this book. I rated it about 3-1/2 stars, mostly because Part I was very good, but I had lost all patience and desire to finish by reading Part 2. This is a rather long book for this type of mystery; it runs 465 pages. Maybe at another point and after a break, I may pick the book up again, and forge on with the rest of Part 2.A Quick Warning: This book is not for the squeamish. Some of the crime scenes bring thoughts of Hannibal Lector.OK - I enjoyed the beginning of this book--it felt quite original: The first scene, a music festival--with the huge, young crowds and all the concurrent enthusiasm of an outdoor event. An exciting start. As the chapter and the book move forward, we realize this is about a serial killer, and I am hoping, perhaps, for a new twist on the serial killer sub-genre. The police, who will do battle with the killer are interesting, with D.I. Luc Callanach in the lead. He was originally with Interpol but was accused of a rape (of which he was innocent), but the stigma of the accusation made him relocate to Edinburgh and continue his career in law enforcement.Part I was delivered at a fine pace, and I was enjoying it - a bit more than "ok." All of the accoutrements of the police procedural were there: The rival from another division who keeps challenging Luc. The woman officer whom Luc "fancies" (Ava) is more interested in his rival. Of course, we have to have the officer in charge - the terror of Luc's existence - constantly ragging Luc about the usual things: "I need an arrest and quickly." "You must accompany me to the Press Conference." "No overtime to solve this case." "I'm relieving you of one of your staff so that he can work with your rival," "Why didn't you check-in yesterday?" -- etc. It is all there, and I find it tiresome when Luc is always being summoned for a dressing-down, along with a handful of job threats, from the big boss "terror" who seems to be on Luc's case all the time. Of course, there are those "dangerous liaisons" of police procedurals - as Luc carries on secretly and shares information with a trusted member of the press AND a trusted computer hacker - the same one that is being investigated by Luc's rival-!When I got to Part 2, I was a bit confused because the mystery, in essence, had been solved. And here, according to page count, I was only half way through the book. I really wasn't ready for more of the same...I thought it was time for Luc to tie up the loose ends and get ready for Book 3 of the series.There is one annoying factor that occurs so often in police procedurals. I guess you could call it the Superman-Syndrome. The police character has just been through a rough time...He has broken bones and lacerations. He can hardly walk, he has a broken coccyx, and the back of his head was bashed and he's bleeding. His face shows evidence of the extreme trauma he's been through, and the doctor tells him he needs several weeks of rest to recover. He agrees, takes the pain meds, and as soon as the doctor leaves the room,. he leaps out of bed and is back on the job. The Superman-Syndrome! This is not just an issue in this book, but often occurs in police procedurals, as the cop-patient pulls out his IV and gets dressed to run (often disguised as a hospital worker). I always have to give an eye-roll when I encounter the Superman-cop.A reasonably enjoyable book -- and still, my main objection is its length - too long, when Part I was all that was needed, with a few extra paragraphs to put a bow around it.

  • A Customer
    2018-11-12 20:07

    This is an excellent mystery about several shockingly brutal and bloody murders of civilians who are in professions that help people in need and/or make a difference to society. DI Luc Callanach and DI Ava Turner of Police Scotland in Edinburgh follow the investigations via two parallel paths, because of the number and different killing methods. The storyline is intriguingly plotted with several cunning plot twists.The subplot involves the New Scotland Yard cybercrimes unit from London descending upon Edinburgh to arrest a hacker who’s upsetvery wealthy and powerful Brits. There is an interesting contrast between members of Police Scotland and the big-city based cyber team.Personal side stories of the detectives are well-integrated into the storyline. There are many interesting and well-developed characters, but a long character list seems de rigueur in British police procedurals. I had no problems with the number of characters overall, because this police procedural is 465 pages long, and many characters are followed throughout the book.I read Perfect Prey as a stand-alone without having read the prior book of the series.

  • Lori
    2018-11-16 22:24

    Unique and Exciting Read. I read it a while ago and it’s stuck with me. I’ve read a lot of books. One after another. They have a tendency to mesh into each other quite often actually. I’ll read a book and completely forget that I read it a month ago. Not this one. It’s left it’s mark. I really can’t explain why. Well written, unique story all, factoring in. Bad Games was one of the first of this genre, sandman, city of fire awesome read, Ellis is the author of this one and he wrote a couple others that stuck with me like this one did. It’s just an enjoyable read, please forgive me for recommending others, especially because Bad Games is pretty harse, intense by contrast to most books, Great too, .This is a great, well written thriller that I have suggested for others, read Perfect Day six months ago and I still remember...pretty good I’d say. Thank God I’m not an author, terrible review!

  • Seth
    2018-10-31 01:20

    I’m not sure how I stumbled upon this series but I’m so shocked to find out that it isn’t HUGE. It’s so well done, lots of twists and turns. Just the right amount of giving you what you want and breaking your heart. Can’t rexommend enough. Comparable to Tana French or Robert Galbraith. An up-all-night book!

  • Cindy Jean reader and writer
    2018-10-28 00:58

    This is a well written and fascinating book. The characters are well developed and possess enough flaws to be believable. The premise is modern and timely, firmly placed in the 21st century. I would love to see this book set to video as a movie or limited series. I highly recommend "Perfect Prey". This is the second time I've submitted this review. Since Amazon has no way to ask what happened to a review they had and evidently lost I decided to resubmit because this is a good book.