Read The Outlaw King (A Heroic Fantasy Novel): The Line of Kings Trilogy Book One (English Edition) by Craig Saunders Online

the-outlaw-king-a-heroic-fantasy-novel-the-line-of-kings-trilogy-book-one-english-edition

For fans of Gemmell, Eddings and Erikson Old school heroic, epic fantasy The old king dies, murdered with only the moon to bear witness Now, a tyrant rules the land of Sturma in an iron grip, and a terrifying new threat masses across the ocean on the world of Rythe The land, and humanity itself, balances on the brink of destruction But hope remains, for the line of kings lives on in one man He is the hunted man, the master of the blade and the leader of the lost.He is the Outlaw King Editor Faith KauweCover Art Copyright Chris Taggart...

Title : The Outlaw King (A Heroic Fantasy Novel): The Line of Kings Trilogy Book One (English Edition)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : B00772MY3K
ISBN13 : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Language : Englisch
Publisher : Fable Books Auflage 3 14 November 2013
Number of Pages : 403 Pages
File Size : 993 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Outlaw King (A Heroic Fantasy Novel): The Line of Kings Trilogy Book One (English Edition) Reviews

  • Reggie
    2018-10-29 01:00

    I didn't know what to expect when I decided to read this; which I did because basically I wanted to read something "Game of Thrones-ish" and I had it on my Kindle.Anyway, what can I say?Craig Saunders has created a great read that takes the reader with him as he relates the story of Tarn, the hero and the Outlaw king in the title. It's mellow fantasy, nothing too alienating, with a smudge of sci fi thrown in to enhance the story, and it works beautifully.I loved this book.There are some editing issues but I looked over them and they definitely did not take anything from the story.Highly, highly recommended.I started Book 2 straight away and I bought book 3 on the strength of this one.Well done Mr. Saunders, I applaud your story telling prowess.Consider me a fan.

  • Jason RBE Waltz
    2018-10-27 23:13

    Well. 'Twas a good story, told long-windedly and rather a bit too naively. The last third was overgrown with fanciful thoughts of feel-good though far-fetched ideas that drastically slowed story and momentum. The grammatical and layout errors increased as the telling progressed, to the point where their combination with the dreamy utopianism of that last third caused much skipping and skimming. I did like our hero. I was left confused in several places (mostly do to jumping around in poorly explained other planes, minds, futures), and wondered at the inclusion of several other ideas and not-quite subplots, merely tangents, that contributed little. I'll grant 3 stars for what I'll take as intended, though I cannot in good conscience recommend the read, at least until after a great editing.

  • Ona
    2018-11-09 01:12

    It was my good fortune to find this book while it was being offered for free. It is a classic tale in the epic sense, with an excellent, suspenseful plot. The early part of the book does an excellent job of setting up the characters, and developing sympathy for the main character, Tarn, a Prince condemned by misfortune to wander the wood with his father. The story begins with their capture and the father's death.Now the story has some flaws. There was a strange creature that defends young Tarn and enables his escape from the soldiers. Just what this beast is or why it was there is vaguely implied but never really explained. Slightly past the middle of the book, some very odd typographical errors appear leaving the reader with the sense that something important got left out, but there is no way to know just quite what that was. The worst of them is after Tarn takes his raggle-taggle henchmen to the city where they hope to enlist some aid. A whole paragraph in that area is completely illegible.Which is a crying shame because this is a really, really good story with a semi-surprise ending. (Ok, I did read the prophesy part, but hey, no one pays attention to that, right?)Moreover, the glossary at the back has some absolutely adorable funny stuff and there is a thoughtfully scary story as a bonus.I would buy another book by this author. I just hope he takes the time to get two or three dedicated readers to help go over the next manuscript before publishing. I'm pretty good at reading things in context, but I'd rather not guess at meanings. I might interpret it wrong.Keep writing, Mr. Saunders!

  • CL
    2018-10-23 21:17

    I am not very good at writing reviews which is why I don't write very many of them. So I apologize right now.I really love to read and enjoy many genres. Fantasy is one that I enjoy but is not usually my first choice. Oftentimes I find it cumbersome to read when the author creates a world so completely out of the norm that I find it hard to get lost in the story.That is not the case with this book. The world that Saunders creates is different, yet has such a sense of familiarity that the story is what captivated me. I was not trying to discern foreign (made up) words to understand the world that the story exists in.The story follows Tarn, a boy who has survived a horrible attack. We see him grow into manhood and follow his fate. Or does he make his fate. I think that was one of the interesting ideas in this book. Tarn's history is that he is the son of a king, a fact he never knew until he was of age. He does not want to be king, yet he cannot resist fighting to save the people from an overbearing ruler who seeks to kill him. Saunders story shows Tarn preparing to follow his fate and then setting out to follow that path where it leads. He has the heart of a king; he does wish for a different life but he does not resent nor regret the destiny that is his. I don't want to give too much away (I hate reviews that tell the whole story for me) so I'll stop there in this meager attempt.I grabbed this book when it was offered for free last week. Probably 90% of what I read on my Kindle is stuff I picked up for free. All I can say is that this book is worth purchasing. There are flaws; I'm pretty sure all books have them. Overlook them for this book - the story makes up for them.I know that I will be buying the next book in the sequel. Which is about the highest praise I can give.

  • robuster
    2018-10-26 20:18

    This is a hard book to review!Maybe the hardest I've done.There are parts that I loved and a lot that was not.The story of Tarn, the witches,Tarns father,Gard,Molly are all worthy of a five star rating.This was a compelling tale wrote with the talent of a gifted writer.Then you have the higharchy,soul swords,monsters of varying degree,some sort of wizard being held prisoner for hundreds of years.For me a lot of this was over the top.I got lost in some of the varied story lines.There was SO MUCH going on that the story became all most to much to read!Mr. Saunders has a more complex word in his view then what I enjoy reading about.For me just too much going on.But this will be a very good book for fantasy junkies.The readers who love world building will give this book a cult following that will be second to none.I would only tell some one who likes very complex storylines to purchase this book.It seems to be just to hard for the weekend reader to get through.In the end I gave this a four star rating because I did not want to punish the writer for my short coming as a reader.I think this was wrote really well I just wish I had more understanding of the view of the complete world Mr.Saunders was giving.If he keeps writing I will keep trying!

  • Waymil.
    2018-11-07 02:24

    The usurper, the Thane of Naeth rules the country. He had the King killed over 20 years ago but can't become king because the crown is magical and can't be worn as long as one of the royal line exists. The Thane's men finally find and kill the King's son but the Grandson, Tarn, escapes. The 7 year old is raised by a loving couple and this story, moving and well written, is the story of his coming into full maturity, learning who he really is and attempting to restore the rightful rulers. Unexpected ending but DON'T read the ending in advance to avoid the unexpected.