Read The Birthday: An absolutely gripping crime thriller (Detective Natalie Ward, Band 1) by Carol Wyer Online

the-birthday-an-absolutely-gripping-crime-thriller-detective-natalie-ward-band-1

One hot summer s afternoon, five year old Ava Sawyer went to a party She never came home When five year old Ava Sawyer goes missing from a birthday party at a local garden centre, the police are bewildered by the lack of leads That is until two years later, when Ava s body is found and another little girl, Audrey Briggs, goes missing Audrey also attended that party Leading the investigation is Detective Natalie Ward A mother of two teenagers, this case chills her to the bone, and is a disturbing reminder of the last job she worked on One that still keeps her awake at night Natalie soon discovers that Ava s mother has some worrying gaps in her alibi and as she digs deeper, she s sure Ava s father is not telling the full story And what did the owner of the garden centre Elsa see that day Something that she s not telling Natalie Just as Natalie is facing up to the grim possibility that Ava and Audrey were killed by someone close to home, another little girl from the party doesn t come home from her ballet lesson Can Natalie find a way to stop this killer before innocent lives are taken Gripping, fast paced and nail bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter Readers are going crazy for The Birthday Absolutely stunning wow it blew me away Totally my favourite book so far of 2018 I loved everything about it A great start to a new series that I am going to love I m already wishing I could have the next book Amazing 5 stars, although it is a shame I can t give it , it s easily worth a 7 Buy it, you won t regret it Bonnie s Book Talk, 5 stars Everything Carol Wyer touches turns to gold She most definitely knows how to write an addictive and tense page turner and this one is no different Compelling from the first page, this will have you hooked in a heartbeat Novel Deelights, 5 stars Omg My heart is pounding so hard I have just finished reading The Birthday and I am floored This is the first in a new series from Carol Wyer, featuring DI Natalie Ward and her team What a way to start Speedy, sharp, heart stopping and engaging this is a series I am definitely looking forward to TishyLou, 5 stars A rollocking rollercoaster ride dark, twisty and wonderfully gripping Minimac Reviews This could be something special This book truly is excellent Heart thumpingly good A well paced, heart wrenching, pulse racing, edge of your seat kind of book and a crime fighting team who you can genuinely root for look no further as this could genuinely be your next favourite read I tore through it Jen Med s Book Reviews, 5 stars What a twist I read this book in a day Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars An exciting new series Excellent character development full of surprising twists and turns This was a truly thrilling book chilling It certainly was no average read I read The Birthday so fast that I was actually surprised Excellent pacing superb writing Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars Wyer easily surpassed all my expectations, creating a dynamic lead character that is every bit as enthralling as the beloved DI Carter I could barely breathe as they rushed to find and arrest the killer Sure to be another skilfully crafted series intense, chilling, and the very definition of unputdownable A must read The Geeky Bibliophile, 5 stars...

Title : The Birthday: An absolutely gripping crime thriller (Detective Natalie Ward, Band 1)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 1786815370
ISBN13 : 978-1786815378
Format Type : Hardcover
Language : Englisch
Publisher : Bookouture 24 September 2018
Number of Pages : 302 Seiten
File Size : 573 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Birthday: An absolutely gripping crime thriller (Detective Natalie Ward, Band 1) Reviews

  • A. Robinson
    2019-03-29 15:26

    I have read all the other crime thrillers of this author and enjoyed every one. If the audio books are reasonably priced I also get those at the same time. I did so with this book, started both while being on sick leave. It gripped me from page one and I listened to it nonstop. I got immersed in the story, feeling part of the investigations and kept changing my guesses of suspects. Loved the character describtions and found the investigation very realistic , cannot wait for the next book in the series! I also really recommend the audio book, great reading !

  • Kitty Catalyst Bibliophile
    2019-04-10 21:11

    A community is rocked when a little girl goes missing at a birthday party held at an animal center. Two years later, her body is found at the same location.The next day, another girl who had attended the birthday party two years ago is found murdered.Immediately the exact same scenario is repeated.Detective Natalie Ward is heartbroken by the case. Cases involving children are always devastating, but they make her all the more determined.Natalie is one of the more relatable characters seen in recent female detectives. While she does have a history of unsolved cases and family troubles, she is not the tortured soul that has become so prevalent.Being grounded, this is an easy plot to keep up with, but it does not easily reveal its secrets.Carol Wyer has breathed life into a human being, not just some cookie cutter character.I received a copy of this book for free from NetGally in exchange for an honest review.

  • ACFlory
    2019-04-08 14:19

    Little girls are dying, and they're all dressed in yellow. Whose child will be next?Having read all of the DI Carter murder mysteries, I couldn't help wondering if the new DI, Natalie Ward, would be as compelling. Hah!. She's a mum with a wobbly marriage as well as a police detective, and her latest case brings back all the old doubts and fears. Natalie Ward could be any of us, and that is part of what makes The Birthday so compelling. And so very, very chilling. The best yet.

  • fishducky
    2019-03-25 16:03

    Ms. Wyer has done it again!! I love the way she fleshed up her characters and made them real. She kept me guessing who the killer was until the end. And I could never have guessed what his motive was. I'm looking forward to the other books in this series (or whatever she writes. I honestly don't think she's capable of writing a bad book.)!!

  • Brendan
    2019-04-04 20:11

    So, I have loved reading Detective Robyn Carter's stories, but was introduced to the new DI Natalie Ward and her team with this story. I enjoyed it as much as Robyn Carter. I had a list of possible killers and was reading as quickly as I could to figure it out. I was not disappointed. Thank you for a great new team and keep them coming.

  • Nikki
    2019-03-21 21:21

    I loved this book. Natalie is easy to relate to as she balances work and home life. You can feel he frustration as the book twists and turns before hitting the shocking conclusion which I was completely surprised by. The villian is disturbing and that's all I'll say. If you like the Robyn Carter series u will definitely love Natalie Ward.